Your browser does not support accepted Web standards. This site has been redesigned to meet Section 508 accessibility standards for persons with disabilities and to meet W3C recommendations for forward compatibility. If you are using an older browser (Netscape or IE 4.x and older), the site layout will not display correctly. However, all pertinent information should still be viewable. To better view this site, please download a browser that complies with Web standards. For upgrade information, visit []. Comments or questions? Email [].

Skip directly to: Content, Search Box, Main Navigation

December 5, 2019 - Rep. Kevin Wallace Receives Higher Education Distinguished Service Award

Media Contact

Rep. Kevin Wallace was recognized with the 2019 Distinguished Service Award for Higher Education during today’s meeting of the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education. He was honored for his support of higher education in his role as chair of the House Appropriations and Budget Committee and the Joint Committee on Appropriations and Budget, as co-chair of the Legislative Office of Fiscal Transparency, and as a member of the Banking, Financial Services and Pensions, Energy and Natural Resources and Wildlife committees.

“We are pleased to honor Rep. Kevin Wallace today with the 2019 Distinguished Service Award,” said Chancellor Glen D. Johnson. “Since his election to the House of Representatives in 2014, Rep. Wallace has been a strong advocate for higher education, consistently supporting the state system of higher education’s budget request, including increasing faculty pay, fully funding concurrent enrollment for high school seniors and providing funds for Section 13 offset monies, which are utilized for deferred maintenance and capital expenditure purposes at our colleges and universities.”

The Distinguished Service Awards for Higher Education recognize individuals who demonstrate distinguished leadership and support of higher education in Oklahoma during the legislative session. It is the highest award presented by the State Regents and the Council of College and University Presidents.