Your browser does not support accepted Web standards. This site has been redesigned to meet Section 508 accessibility standards for persons with disabilities and to meet W3C recommendations for forward compatibility. If you are using an older browser (Netscape or IE 4.x and older), the site layout will not display correctly. However, all pertinent information should still be viewable. To better view this site, please download a browser that complies with Web standards. For upgrade information, visit []. Comments or questions? Email [].

Skip directly to: Content, Search Box, Main Navigation

JuLY 5, 2016 -Higher Education Chancellor Elected Vice Chair of Southern Regional Education Board

Media Contact

Oklahoma State System of Higher Education Chancellor Glen D. Johnson was recently elected vice chair of the Southern Regional Education Board (SREB). This will be his fourth term to serve in this position. Johnson will serve alongside Louisiana Gov. Jon Bel Edwards, who was elected chair of the board.

Johnson also chairs SREB’s Commission on College Affordability in the South, which will report recommendations later this year. Oklahoma’s state system of higher education is a national leader in affordability, ranked by the U.S. Chamber of Commerce Foundation as the fifth most affordable system in the country.

As vice chair of SREB’s 80-member board, Johnson works with governors, legislators and state education leaders to improve public education and student achievement across the region from pre-K through the postsecondary level.

“I am honored to serve again as SREB vice chair,” said Johnson. “As we continue to focus on helping students compete successfully in an increasingly global economy, I look forward to working collaboratively with Gov. Edwards and the rest of the board to build education systems that strengthen public education across the 16 member states.”

Created in 1948 by southern governors and legislatures who recognized the link between advancing education and improving economic vitality, the SREB is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that works with 16 member states to improve public education at every level. Member states are Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia.

Johnson was named chancellor of the Oklahoma State System of Higher Education in January 2007 following a national search. Before assuming the role of chancellor, Johnson served as the 16th president of Southeastern Oklahoma State University in Durant for 10 years. He was also director of public policy and adjunct professor of law at the University of Oklahoma College of Law. Prior to his work at OU, Johnson served in the Oklahoma House of Representatives from 1982 to 1996 and was speaker of the House from 1990 to 1996. At the time of his election as speaker, he was the youngest sitting speaker in the United States.